World Challenge Win Gives Lynton Jeffrey Final Ticket to Nationals Championship

Lynton Jeffrey claimed the Speed Sport World Challenge Friday night, and in turn gained the 25th starting spot for Saturday’s 55th Annual FVP Knoxville Nationals presented by Casey’s General Stores! The Sydney, New South Wales, Australia native now residing in Prairie City, Iowa assumed the lead from James McFadden, who saw his power plant go up in smoke with two laps to go.

Randy Hannagan jumped out to the early lead in the 20-lap event over Jeffrey and Kraig Kinser. Jeffrey used a slide job to gain the point from Hannagan on lap two, and took off from the field on the cushion after a lap three restart for a spun Sheldon Haudenschild.

McFadden shot to third on lap four, while Daryn Pittman moved into the top five on lap five. Haudenschild brought out another caution and retired with a blown right rear with nine laps in the books. Jeffrey led Hannagan, McFadden, Pittman and Kinser back to green.

McFadden stormed into second on lap 12 and stalked Jeffrey for five laps. On lap 17, he shot to the bottom of turn three and slid in front of Jeffrey to take the lead. The native of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, pulled away and appeared to be heading for the big show on Saturday night. Unfortunately, his motor went south with two laps to go, handing the win to Jeffrey.

Jeffrey won by a large margin over Hannagan, Pittman, Brooke Tatnell and Brad Sweet. Kinser, Ian Madsen, hard-charger Christopher Bell, Tim Kaeding and Kerry Madsen rounded out the top ten.

“I commiserate for (McFadden), he had a great car,” said Jeffrey in Victory Lane. “He’s had a little bit of bad luck in America this year. That sucked for him. He did a great job and got unlucky. I’ve done that myself. This team’s worked hard this year. I’m really thinking about the Swindell’s right now. I’d like to send some love and some prayers to the family and Kevin. I just hope he gets well, and I dedicate this win to him.”

Speed Sport World Challenge (started), 20 Laps, NT: 1. Lynton Jeffrey (2); 2. Randy Hannagan (1); 3. Daryn Pittman (9); 4. Brooke Tatnell (6); 5. Brad Sweet (13); 6. Kraig Kinser (3); 7. Ian Madsen (7); 8. Christopher Bell (18); 9. Tim Kaeding (17); 10. Kerry Madsen (14); 11. Terry McCarl (12); 12. Jamie Veal (5); 13. Jordyn Brazier (16); 14. Lucas Wolfe (10); 15. Jason Sides (4); 16. James McFadden (8); 17. Scott Bogucki (15); 18. Sheldon Haudenschild (11); 19. Glen Saville (20); 20. Bruce White (21); 21. Jac Haudenschild (19). Lap Leaders: Hannagan 1, Jeffrey 2-16, McFadden 17-18, Jeffrey 19-20. Hard-charger: Bell.